setrfloor.blogg.se

Final fantasy xiv review
Final fantasy xiv review











I would have liked to have seen that particular thread handled in another way. With the way it was left, I’m hoping they still intend to wrap that part up… differently in the patches to come. The total number of times this story tugged on my heart strings, whether through joy, sorrow, and everything in between, came out to 70 times!Īll of that said, there was one glaring detail at the end of the story that I would cut off, put through a shredder, and burn the remains of. Knowing that Endwalker would likely cause some tears, I joked that we ought to do a tear counter, but I ended up sticking with the idea. I love a story that makes me feel things and Endwalker did not disappoint in that regard. There were times when I knew exactly where the story’s plot was going, but the journey to that point was always such a delight and ended up delivering more than I expected. It’s not often that a long running story leaves me feeling as fulfilled as Endwalker did. While not required this time around, I would highly encourage everyone to check them out.

final fantasy xiv review

It’s also worth noting that, as displeased as I was with the narrative of the main scenario, I will say that the two role quests I’ve completed thus far were much more in line with my narrative expectations. On the other side of that, there were some scenes that felt like they were aimed at wanting to elicit a strong emotion from players, but to me personally, felt so transparent and/or predictable that I simply couldn’t be bothered to invest the strong emotional reaction the writers were trying to get out of me. Many scenes stirred some feelings in me, I even teared up a bit on occasion, but ultimately, only one scene got me to tear up during my playthrough. My expectations were placed neatly on top of a table, and the FFXIV team decided to take that table, and flip it over, seemingly, for the sake of simply doing so to subvert the expectations of people like me. After all, it’s almost impossible not to have these thoughts after playing the game since version 1.0. After completing the story and giving myself some time to reflect on it however, it’s clear they couldn’t meet that high bar that they set with Shadowbringers.Īdmittedly, some of the issues that I faced during my run through the story were the result of expectations and desires that I myself placed on it. I had been wondering if the team would be able to take characters like Fandaniel or Zenos and make them interesting to the point where they could rival Emet-Selch’s incredible narrative from the previous expansion. Going more in depth is difficult without naming names, but what I will say is that Endwalker’s line up of antagonists, to me, is the most disappointing of Final Fantasy XIV to date. Sure, there are moments where ten years of questing and character interactions pay off, but the main narrative to me felt unfocused at times and ultimately left me unfulfilled. Ultimately however, the story presented in Endwalker feels more like a sequel and finale to its previous expansion Shadowbringers rather than any kind of conclusion to the last ten years of storytelling.

final fantasy xiv review

Final Fantasy XIV: Endwalker signals the end of the Hydaelyn and Zodiark saga- a story that has been around for more than a decade.













Final fantasy xiv review